Don’t think about it – Just do it

The last few workouts I’ve had have really started to get fun.  I recently had a great session with my trainer, where she introduced a new circuit that involves rotating between different kind of pushups, among other things.  The first time I tried the pushup circuit, I was really dying.  She could see that I was determined to get through my third set, but I knew it was going to be tough…  so she yelled at me “Don’t think about it, just do it!”

I really stopped thinking and just did it.  It was truly that simple…  turn off your brain, and let your body do it’s thing.  It was like magic, having her say those words to me.

During that same workout, I was chatting with my trainer about how quickly I’ve been increasing my weight on my strength training exercise.  When I look at my workout plan, it has me going up on weight after 3 workouts at a given weight.  That means that I generally increase my weight every week if I’m doing my workouts regularly.  In my mind, that seems fast.  I look at the number written down on paper, and I’m surprised that I’m able to lift that much.  My trainer just laughed at me when I told her that.  “It’s mostly psychological,” she said.  “Sometimes you just need someone to tell you that you can do it.  Your body adapts fast, it’s your mind that needs to catch up.”

Woah.  Is she ever right.  Maybe this is one of the best parts of working with a trainer.  I have someone telling me that I can do it.  Someone who is there to yell at me to turn off my brain when she sees me starting to doubt myself.  Stop thinking!!  Just do it! 

I never realized how much my own self-doubt figures in to my training until I heard my trainer say those words.  It really stuck with me.  I look at a distance, and I say to myself Nope, that is farther than I’ve ever run before.  I don’t think I can do that today.  I see a number written down on paper and I say I can’t lift that much, that’s more than half my body weight!  How crazy of me to be the first to count myself out.  I am my own worst enemy.

I know I didn’t make any official 2015 New Year’s resolutions.  It’s not really my style to do stuff like that…  but I have officially made a new goal for myself.  I’ve decided to stop being my own worst enemy when it comes to training.  I don’t want to be the only thing standing in my own way of achieving my goals.  I will set workout goals, and I will meet them, because I can.  I can do it. 

When it comes to training this year, I’m going to stop thinking, and just do it.

Leave a Reply

