Workout Recap and Recovery Day

Yesterday I worked a night shift, starting at 7:30pm.  I decided to do a little pre night shift gym time, since I’m useless the morning after a 12 hour shift, so I knew it wasn’t going to happen today.  I ended up having a great workout, putting in 20min of warm-up cardio, and then hitting the weights for about 45min afterwards.  I lifted the same weight I was lifting pre flu, and I’m barely sore today.  It’s taken me roughly two weeks to get back on track, but it feels great to be back in the swing of things again.

Here is yesterday’s workout:

3×15 squats at 40lbs

3×15 lunges with 15lb kettle bells.  My trainer tells me to complete all 15 reps on one leg before switching to the other leg, you get a better workout that way!

3×12 bicep curls at 10lbs (I AM SO WEAK AT BICEP CURLS)

3×15 tricep dips

3×10 in and out pushups.  To do one “in and out pushup”, you do a pushup with your hands set wide apart, then you push your body up and throw your arms into a pushup position with your arms tight next to your body.  Do a pushup from this position.  That is one rep.

3x 1min low plank.  “Low plank” may also be known as “sliding plank.”  You want your feet to either be on a slippery surface, or on gliding disks.  You start out in plank position, and then glide your feet back, maintaining your strong core the whole time.  Once you feel yourself ready to lose your strong core, you contract your abs and slide back to your original position.  If you’re a pro at plank, do this variation for an extra challenge!

Finally, my ab circuit consists of:

3×15 reverse crunches

3×15 hip raises

3×10 leg raises

That workout is really starting to get fun for me.  I’m still pretty shaky on my third set of the pushup, plank and ab circuit, but I managed to get through all of it this time without absolutely dying.  Practice makes perfect, I suppose!

After finishing up at the gym last night, I had a quick snack and was off to work.  Had a busy night with almost no break, and didn’t get home until 9:15 this morning.  So exhausted, but of course, unable to fall asleep after I finally made it home!

So today, after waking up from my post night shift snooze, I spent the afternoon running errands.  I got a new bank card, after having my purse stolen last week, and finally replaced my purse.  Since I’m only operating on 3 hours of sleep, I’ll be taking it easy tonight with pancakes and eggs for supper…  best cure for a night shift hangover!!  My workout tonight will be a bit of yoga and when Joe gets home from work, we’ll have ourselves a little mini date night.  I’ll be back at the gym again tomorrow, hopefully feeling a little more rested.

I hope you all had a happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

