Hangover Tuesday

I`ve mentioned in earlier posts that I`m an ICU nurse, but I haven`t explained that I`m currently taking a bit of time away from that and doing research.  I`ve been working 8 hour days, 4 days a week, sitting at a desk for the first time in my life.  This phase of my life is about to come to an end, when Joe and I move back to our lives and jobs in Canada at the end of the month, and we`re both back to our crazy healthcare clinician lifestyle. 

For now, I am a 9-5er, a lifestyle that doesn`t suit me nor has it ever appealed to me.  I`m actually looking forward to 12 hour night shifts right now, something that I never thought I`d say, just so I can be back inside an ICU again.  And with only 2 weeks left at my current job, I`m pretty much just DYING.  DYING to get back home!!

I woke up a little bit hungover this morning and I don`t think I fully shook it off.  I worked my usual day today but have to go back in tonight to facilitate a research project at 9pm.  So I had a whole 3.5 hours to make dinner, eat, run my 3 miles, and then shower and get ready to head back to work.  I decided just to run on the treadmill in our building`s gym so it would be a bit faster… 3 miles of hungover running and that`s another workout logged.  I have to say, it was just about survival today, but at least I did it.  I hated every second of that run, but I already feel so much better for it.

My time was actually kind of not bad, at least for me.  I think it`s because the guy on the treadmill next to me (who looked like a slightly younger version of the coach from Freaks and Geeks) kept nodding at me and trying to get my attention in the mirror. 

Not cool. 

Dude, I HAVE to look in that mirror, the whole wall is a mirror and I`m running on a treadmill that faces it.

So needless to say, I couldn`t get out of there fast enough.  I almost forgot to check my time at the end of my run, but I think it was 28:18. 

And now, after my hellish run with my aching legs silently cursing me for all those beers I had last night (legs, stop your complaining, it`s the playoffs!), I truly feel…  fantastic.  I will be about a million times nicer to my husband when get home from my evening of work tonight than I would have been if I`d just holed up in bed all evening, watching trashy TV and drinking Gatorade. 

And that is why I run.  🙂

Leave a Reply

