Today`s workout log and Beyonce

Today was a run and strength day for me.  I came home from work and pre-gamed with a yummy banana chocolate chip muffin, and then went straight to the gym.  Some days I can tell that if I take too much time to relax after work, I’ll never get back up off the couch and get that workout in, and this was one of those days.

I had to do 3 miles and then follow up with some strength training.  I felt pretty awesome jogging today…  I have some tightness in my shoulders from boxing yesterday, but I’m learning to focus on tightening up my core instead and relaxing everything else while I run.  I took a few deep breaths and focused on my core, and my shoulders felt a million times better.  This is something I learned to do when I was rehabbing from my back injury, and it can be extremely helpful.

It took me 28:59 to do my 3 miles today…  A full 1:30 slower than my average outdoor time.  Does anyone else feel like they’re slower on the treadmill than they are outside?  Is that normal?

My strength training was all upper body. I always do this ab workout on strength days:

http://youtu.be/wZ4NL_D7SCw

I usually mix in some pilates-derived core exercises as well, just to keep it fresh.  I went through a heavy pilates phase a few years ago, and I still love it.  (Also, I LOVE Sarah Grace…  this girl is legit.  She used to be a boxer, so I feel like she gets me.  Check out the link above, and check out the rest of her YouTube channel as well if you want to do some good strength exercises.)

If you feel like you`re dying during your ab workouts, just think about Beyonce…

Beyonce-abs

Annnnnd you’re motivated.

Finally, I followed that up with some weight lifting to strengthen my arms.  To be honest, my arm workout isn’t really designed to make me a faster runner.  It’s sort of a mix of curls, shoulder presses, tricep exercises and a bunch of conditioning exercises I learned from boxing.  It’s really more designed to make me a better power puncher.  So I guess if I show up to my first half marathon and it’s not going well, I’ll just knock everyone out and walk the rest of the way to the finish line.

It’s always good to have a plan B.

 

Does anyone have any tips on how to effectively train on the treadmill when running outside isn’t an option?

What are your favorite arm exercises for running?

 

 

Leave a Reply

